How Baseball Ross and I Got Part of the Brighthouse Sign

Me and the G from Brighthouse Stadium

Me and the G from Brighthouse Stadium

Baseball Ross and I were in the right place at the right time. You can watch a video about our amazing experience HERE.

If you aren’t aware, the cable company that has the naming rights of the Phillies stadium, Brighthouse Field, was recently bought out and rebranded as Spectrum. So they needed to replace the name on the stadium.

No longer called Brighthouse

No longer called Brighthouse

So as we turned the corner we saw something we expected, there was a crew there removing the sign.

Removing the sign

Removing the sign

We struck up a conversation with the workers. I asked what they were going to do with the sign and they replied, “It’s going to the dump, you want it?”

I wanted to take it all but Ross and I live in a cottage, so that huge sign really wasn’t an option. (Or so I thought.) I resisted the urge and took only 2 “Gs” and an “s” for our real names. They still had the bolts attached, so Ross volunteered to take them back to the car so we didn’t carry them into the stadium. I went into watch batting practice. When we came out the sign was repaired and the workers were gone.

It's a blank space

It’s a blank space

Later, Ross tells me, “I have something to tell you,” and he opens the trunk.

Trunk full of letters

Trunk full of letters

I wondered what I would do with all those letters with the bolts sticking out of them. The smaller, wooden letters’ bolt screwed out of the wood easily, but the metal letters were another story. I found a local auto repair shop that thought it was a cool project and cut the bolts off and ground the stumps down for me. I then took them home and cleaned them up. Considering that they had been on a building and had weathered the harsh Florida sun and hurricanes, I think they look good.

letters

I then went to work. I think the final product looks amazing. I plan on doing this to the rest of the big letters and have some ideas for the small ones as well. It’s backlit just as it was when it was hanging on the stadium the day before. I think it looks amazing and is a piece of Phillies history.

My lighted B

My lighted B

Leave a Reply

