So Long, Farewell…For Now-Spring Training is over

Spring training is at its end. Today the teams that are going North packed their bags and headed for the airport. Baseball Ross and I got there just in time to see some of our Lakewood BlueClaws friends as they loaded the equipment truck.

Meanwhile, the Threshers and Extended Spring Training teams were preparing for another intra-squad game. The weather was very sketchy. It’s never a good sign at 10 a.m. when they have to turn the lights on on the field just to play. (Note: I had to lighten these pictures quite a bit just so that they were useable.)

It was a dark day in Clearwater

It was a dark day in Clearwater

The key for today was to get two of the Phillies major league pitchers some work before the rains came in.

Jared Eickhoff

Jared Eickhoff

Jared Eickhoff pitched the top of the first.

Vincent Velazquez

Vincent Velazquez

Vincent Velazquez came in in the bottom of the first and  gave up a home run to Kyle Martin. After that, just as he got the third out, lightning flashed nearby and they called the game.

Baseball Ross and I started for the car and saw the buses lined up and waiting for the equipment truck to move so that they could pull down the driveway so the players could load.

buses

And there you have it, the end of another Phillies spring training.

I do want to mention my favorite part of spring training, Don. Don is the host at the Carpenter Complex. He keeps an eye on everything going on and is a genuinely great guy. The players love him and so do the fans. Don has been at his post as long as I can remember and I have to say as much as I look forward to spring training every year, I look forward to seeing Don even more. He always has a good word to say and I don’t think I have ever seen him without a smile on his face. He is the highlight of spring training for me. Spring training would never be “right” without Don. Ross and I feel lucky to call Don our friend.

Baseball Ross, Don and Baseball Betsy

Baseball Ross, Don and Baseball Betsy

 

Leave a Reply

