Ruth Hartman, A Reading Icon Passes Away

 

Ruth Hartman's Queen of Baseballtown Trophy

Ruth Hartman’s Queen of Baseballtown Trophy

Ruth Hartman, Queen of Baseballtown, a fixture at the Reading Fightins games and a personal hero of mine, passed away yesterday. She was 89.

You can read about the details of the accident HERE.

I had the pleasure of meeting Ruth years ago,  She was a lively lady walking through the sheep barn at the Pennsylvania Farm Show. Ross’ cousin also shows sheep so they were friends and he introduced us. I went home and started reading about her. She became a hero of mine.

As a young girl in the 70s, there really wasn’t a lot of female sports heroes, other than figure skaters. When I saw A League of Their Own, I was impressed. It wasn’t something I had heard of before and immediately those women became heroes. When I met Ruth, who was so unassuming, it made me admire what she had achieved.

Ruth Hartman sits at the Head of the table in Red.

Ruth Hartman sits at the Head of the table in Red.

Ruth Hartman's Autograph

Ruth Hartman’s Autograph

I met her again, albeit briefly when the then Reading Phillies, had a “All American Girls Professional Baseball League” night. They had quite a few of the former players there. I wrote an article about it back in 2011. You can read it HERE.

The summer of 2014 when Ross and I were in Reading, I really wanted to ask her if I could interview her for my blog. A friend of mine who works for the Fightins thought she might do it, but I was so shy to ask someone I admired so much for an interview, that I didn’t. It will be something I will always regret.

So as I sit here writing about one my personal heroes, I’m weeping. The baseball world seems a little dimmer with out one of it’s stars, the Queen of Baseballtown, Ruth Hartman. Rest in Peace, Ruth, rest in peace.

Ruth’s obituary can be read HERE and the Reading Fightins just added THIS VIDEO TRIBUTE.

One thought on “Ruth Hartman, A Reading Icon Passes Away

Leave a Reply

