It’s the Freddy Galvis Show

Freddy Galvis is the man of the hour. With the Jimmy Rollins trade, Galvis has been the one to watch…and it seems that everyone IS watching. For Galvis, he seems to be putting on a how-to clinic and showing he deserves the starting role.

Below, hitting instructor Mike Schmidt offers pointers as Galvis enters the batting cage.

Mike Schmidt offers Freddy Galvis Hitting advice as Galvis enters the batting cage

Mike Schmidt offers Freddy Galvis Hitting advice as Galvis enters the batting cage

Freddy Galvis relaxes for a moment while awaiting fly balls

Freddy Galvis relaxes for a moment while awaiting fly balls

When I say everyone has their eyes on Galvis, I mean everyone in the Phillies’ front office as shown below where they are watching Galvis during infield drills.

Ruben Amaro (black hat), Ed Wade (white hat), Charlie Kerfeld (red hoodie), Dallas Green (white brimmed hat) and Pat Gillick (red hat) look on as Galvis puts on a show

Ruben Amaro (black hat), Ed Wade (white hat), Charlie Kerfeld (red hoodie), Dallas Green (white brimmed hat) and Pat Gillick (red hat) look on as Galvis puts on a show

Galvis

Galvis

Galvis

Galvis

Like the star of the show, Galvis even signed autographs. You see, last spring a friend of mine came a cross a bat of Galvis’ that had been discarded since it was broken. My friend knew what a baseball fan I am so he rescued it and I returned home from a Spring Training game last season to find it gleaming in the late afternoon sun on my front porch. So today, I took my very first game used bat to the field with the goal of getting it signed.

After Galvis finished batting, I asked if he could sign before he went to the outfield…he said he’d get me when he was finished, however, he was called to the half field to practice in front of the brass so he could not return.

Later, Baseball Ross saw him over at the Carpenter Complex taking bunting practice, again in front of the brass, so I trotted over there. When he was done, he saw me and came over. I have to say this is one of the most meticulous autographs I’ve ever gotten and I am so appreciative that he did such a great job.

Freddy Galvis Bat

 

To put the proverbial cherry on my “sundae”, I happened to run into a friend who “restores” broken bats. My friend can take a broken bat (even one that’s unstable like mine) and work his magic to make it look almost like new. He offered to work on the crack on my bat so I won’t have to worry about it splitting in the future. There’s not many people in this world I’d trust one of my prized possessions to, but this guy’s the best. So in a few days I’ll have a really nice piece for my collection.

I’m so glad I have the opportunity to spend every day in the sun at Spring Training. It’s one of the best things I know.

 

Leave a Reply

