Good News on the Elbow

If you have been reading my blog, you know I’ve had a long summer dealing with pain and weakness in my right elbow. I’m ambidextrous, so I was able to deal with it fairly well, except when it came to using my camera, which is definitely made for right handers. I didn’t blog as much as I would have liked and two weeks ago, it hurt too badly for me to ignore any longer. Baseball Ross took me to the urgent care for help. The doctor there said I had, “tennis elbow and a bone growth that would need to be removed.” I panicked, who wants to have surgery?!

Friday, I went to see the orthopedic surgeon, who happens to be the official surgeon of the Toronto Blue Jays and the Dunedin Blue Jays. Who better to see than the guy trusted with million dollar arms, right?

He reviewed all the information and X-rays from the urgent care physician and declared that EVERYTHING he had told me was wrong. I do not have “tennis elbow” but “golfer’s elbow” a muscle issue with the inside of my elbow. I also have a pinched nerve, so keeping my arm bent in a sling as the urgent care doctor suggested was the worst thing I could have done.

So what do I do? For starters, he gave me an air-cast brace that will support the muscles while they heal. I’m also to keep the elbow as straight as comfortable (even while sleeping) and he gave me new anti-inflammatory medicine that seems to be doing the trick.

If this does not clear it up, then we can try cortisone shots to the elbow and finally as a last resort, he can move/reroute the nerve to the top of my elbow so it won’t be pinched. Surgery if it would happen, is a long way down the road, at least a few months.

The only disappointment for me is that if I had to have elbow surgery I wanted to get my first tattoo….

tommy john elbow tattoo

I guess it’s worth going to one of the best “arm-guys” in the business if you want a good result. Baseball Doctors Rule!

Leave a Reply

