Derrick Mitchell Chasing a New Dream

IMG_2069-0.JPG
(Photo courtesy of @cherylpursell)

If you’ve been following my blog for any length of time, you’ll know that one of my favorite players has been Derrick Mitchell. I’ve followed Derrick since his days in Clearwater and feel lucky that I can call him a friend. Even when he went to the Braves organization, Baseball Ross and I continued to follow him. Both of us, were shocked and saddened when he was released by the Braves organization in July.

The news this week, is great for Derrick, he has a new dream to chase: one as a college freshman. He is also a walk on to Western Michigan University’s football team. While he does not have a set position as of today, the coach says “he can kick punt, throw and run.”

It’s great to see that he has a new passion and I wish him all the best in his new pursuits. I know I’ll be keeping an eye on the papers to see what he’s up to. If you’d like to read the article about Derrick, you can’t read it <a href="http://www.mlive.com/broncos/index.ssf/2014/09/wmu_footballs_27-year-old_fres.html&quot;

Leave a Reply

