Trouble with the Knuckle

I’ve become fascinated by the knuckleball. They say the first step to healing is to admit you have a problem. So there, I’ve said it. I’m fascinated by the knuckleball.

I saw R.A. Dickey throw his in spring training, while I thought it was “neat”, because of the angle of my seats, I never got to appreciate the movement of the ball. I did get to appreciate R.A., however. I saw him walking around downtown Dunedin, my hometown and the place where the Jays spring train. I didn’t say hello, I didn’t want to bother him, but he’s definitely the kind of guy that stands out in a crowd.

I also “just missed” running into R.A. at my hair salon. No, REALLY. LOL. My stylist, who is simply the best I’ve ever had, said to me when I came in, “you’re into baseball, you know who that guy was?”

“What was his name?” I asked.

“I think he plays for the Jays, he’s got letters for a name.”

My eyes widened, “R.A.?”

“Yeah, that’s it! I cut his hair.” She smiled and went about her work on my mane.

Sure enough, next time I saw him, he had a new cut. But I digress.

I was lucky enough to have the pleasure to talk to Frank Viola III again this week and he and I had a lengthy discussion about the knuckleball: how to throw it, the way the strategy is a little different with a knuckleball and how what you aim for with a knuckleball is “soft contact”.

I found it fascinating because you think of the mentality of a pitcher wanting to go out and mow down the batters with a simple 1-2-3 inning, but with a knuckleballer, it’s more of a “set them up, then a soft contact hit for an out.”

Dickey did just that yesterday. It seemed like he had it all under control. He lasted 8.1 innings 5H, 2R, 2ER, 1BB and 1HR (that was in the 1st inning).

Baseball Ross and I listed on the MLB channel on satellite radio as we were running errands. I almost didn’t get my errands done because if Dickey was pitching I wouldn’t get out of the car.

Dickey was dealing…and I was hanging on every knuckled pitch.

I am hoping that I can catch Viola pitch this week, I just have to see that pitch, I’m like a cat watching a laser pointer.

Hi, my name is Betsy and I’m a knuckleball addict.

Leave a Reply

