Spring Training Ends and the Season Finale of The Walking Dead

As spring training comes to a close, tonight is also the season ending episode of The Walking Dead. Coincidence?

Despite having some talent in the farm system, Ruben Amaro, Jr. has insisted upon drawing from his pool of walkers, I mean The Walking Dead, sorry, maturely-aged veterans. He’s given several players over 30 long-term contracts and acquired others over the age of thirty that were released by their previous teams.

photo

 

The age factor is most obviously illustrated by the latest player photos that were released today. Take Chase Utley for example:

photo

The one exception to the deader is better, I mean seasoned-veterans are better rule is Cody Asche. Two years ago, I had the pleasure watching him play here in Clearwater and now he’s in the Show. He was given a chance out of necessity and he’s stepped up.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I’d rather lose games because of a young guy’s learning curve rather than because Amaro keeps acquiring players over the age of 30. Statistics show that the prime baseball years are 27-30 so why does Amaro keep acquiring players or extending the ones he has long past their expiration date? There are exceptions to the age/expiration date, like Mariano Rivera as a reliever, that is a position that allows for that…but when’s the last time we had a player that was an exception instead of the rule?

The Phillies did not score in their last three GAMES. Then again it’s spring training and like team leader Jimmy Rollins said, “Who cares?”

I do, or did. I’m so frustrated with the state of things, that I now root for players, not the team. I’ll root for Cody Asche and pitcher Mario Hollands, both of whom I’ve watched progress. Both are young, the FUTURE of the team, not the walking dead of today.

I hope I’m wrong…dead wrong.

 

Leave a Reply

