Timing is Everything

One of the things I love best is photography. It’s a real passion of mine. Last spring, I finally broke down and invested in a “real” camera, one with interchangeable lenses, wifi and so many bells and whistles that I can’t name half of them. It was the best thing I could have done.

One of the very first times I used it, I was watching extended spring training and I was struggling a little and this kind man sitting next to me asked if my camera was new. I said yes and he proceeded to ask me for my camera. He took his camera off his monopod (an adjustable stick that bears the weight of the camera and helps you hold it steady) and put my camera on it. He told me to try it out. Then he showed me a few things with the camera as well as suggesting some accessories I should buy to get started.

I was so impressed that this man would spend time showing me the ropes. He said he was there to watch his son. We chatted a while then I headed over to another field to take some more pictures.

Later, I mentioned this to Ross and how much I thought of such a kind gesture. “The guy sitting next to you taught you to use your camera? Do you know who that was?” I said, “one of the dads.”

Ross laughed, “That is Dennis Dugan, Kelly Dugan’s dad! He directs movies in Hollywood!”

I didn’t believe him, but after checking IMDB, Ross was right.

I had just gotten a lesson in photography from the director of “Happy Gilmore” and “Big Daddy”. He really was so sweet to help someone as clueless as I was.

I got to see him today and made a point to show him the picture I took of Kelly earlier in the season. It really meant a lot to me when he complimented me on it.

20140320-214817.jpg

I also took a few other pictures that I am kinda proud of, as I think I’ve finally started to get the hang of action photography. One thing I can tell you, it’s easier when you know the pitcher. If you’ve taken hundreds of pictures of them, you can learn when to hit the shutter to get that one shot. 20,000 digital pictures later and I now have some like this:

>

20140320-215328.jpg

>

20140320-215650.jpg

20140320-215713.jpg

Leave a Reply

