A Tale of Two Balls

Sitting around the Carpenter Complex like I do, you see a lot of things. Some things are more memorable than others.

One of my favorite was sitting on a bench and talking with Roman Quinn. He was here at the end of the season last year with his wrist injury and is now rehabbing a new injury to his Achilles’ tendon.

You might think a guy with “swag” in his twitter handle might be a little pretentious, but let me tell you, that is not a word I thought of talking to Roman. He’s a sweet soft spoken guy who’s positivity is amazing considering his bad luck with injuries. He was quite impressive.

He was also kind enough to sign a ball for me.

20140314-171721.jpg

The other ball I collected this week has a more “colorful” history. Baseball Ross and I were watching one of the A+ (group 3) scrimmages and Hilton Richardson, a free agent signee who hadn’t played for 2 years, smacked a ball out over the right field fence at Ashburn Field. It bounced out on the macadam and disappeared.

Later when Ross and I were walking to the car I saw it…sunk in the drainage ditch next to the parking lot. It was barely visible above the green gunk but it was there and Ross, being the gentleman he is, carefully retrieved it for me.

It took three days of baking it in the hot car in the Florida sunshine to get it to dry out. It did however, retain the green hue of the algae. I caught up with the glasses wearing Hilton and got it autographed as well.

20140314-172634.jpg

I also found Richardson’s hit interesting as hit hit it about the same place that Chase Utley did last year when Chase was here in rehab. (Yes, I have that ball as well, though it stopped short of going in the water.)

Leave a Reply

