Sometimes You Wanna Go Where Everybody Knows Your Name

How’s the the theme from Cheers go?

Sometimes you wanna go where everybody knows your name,
And they’re always glad you came…

This is what I love about minor league sports. Baseball Ross and I have been seriously following the Phillies farm system for almost 10 years. We have gone to spring training for about 7 of those years. Before we move to Florida, we would spend the summer driving to Lakewood, Williamsport, Reading and even managing a few days to watch the Threshers.

We do not really go out of our way to get to know all of the players, we let them do their job, but we have had the privilege of getting to know a few of the guys over the years.

Through writing our blogs, we’ve found that friends and family of the players follow us since reporting at the lower levels can be sparse, as well as getting to know others who love minor league baseball as much as we do.

By going to so many games and now being Threshers season ticket holders we have gotten to meet and know most of the other season ticket holders.

It makes all of this quite amazing. We’ve met all kinds of people. Some famous, some not so famous. BUT we all share our love of the game and there is a fellowship in that. There are a some games where I visit other fans or players family members that I’ve met. Sometimes if a game is close I’ll try to tweet or blog about what’s going on, but baseball to me, has become so much more than just a game, it’s a community.

Without baseball, literally, Ross and I would never have found our house. We had gotten lost in the way to a spring training game where the Phillies were playing the Blue Jays and got lost. Without baseball, I wouldn’t have even come here at all. I wouldn’t have made some amazing friends.

It almost makes me think of the opening narration by Annie Savoy at the beginning of Bull Durham:

I believe in the Church of Baseball. I’ve tried all the major religions, and most of the minor ones. I’ve worshipped Buddha, Allah, Brahma, Vishnu, Siva, trees, mushrooms, and Isadora Duncan. I know things. For instance, there are 108 beads in a Catholic rosary and there are 108 stitches in a baseball. When I heard that, I gave Jesus a chance.

So for me there’s much more to baseball than “just a game” it’s a place to meet people, see some great places and may be find a place where everybody knows your name.

Leave a Reply

