Merry Christmas, an Interview with Phillies’ #1 Prospect, Jesse Biddle!

Jesse Biddle prepares to pitch

Jesse Biddle prepares to pitch

Merry Christmas! My present is this, an interview with the Phillies’ NUMBER ONE rated prospect, Jesse Biddle. He’s a hometown boy and frankly, one of my favorites. He’s a great guy and I’m privileged to consider him a friend.

This summer, I was lucky to get to know Jesse a little bit along with Adam Morgan (who also was nice enough to talk with me (you can read it here)). Both guys were gracious enough to take the time to fill out my little questionnaire, and for which I am very grateful.

So here I post his interview for your reading pleasure…

1)Who was your baseball idol growing up?

My idols growing up were a mixture of Steve Carlton, Cole Hamels, and (I know he’s not a Phillie) Andy Pettitte. I love the way all 3 of them approach the game and pitch with such confidence and intensity.

2)Do you have any special sports memorabilia?

I think my favorite piece of sports memorabilia is my Willie Mays, Hank Aaron, Richie Allen baseball card that they are on together because they were 1, 2, and 3 in the home run race in 1966.

3)If you weren’t playing baseball, what would you want to do?

I think I would definitely want to be a teacher just like my older brother, Sam is. Or else a Stunt Driver in hollywood.

4)What was your favorite moment of the 2012 season?

I don’t know if I can pin point a favorite moment from the season but the most memorable one was when Colton Murray knocked down the Tampa Yankees shortstop and I experienced my first bench clearing. I don’t think I ever learned the proper etiquette at my Quaker school.

5)What are your plans for the off season?

My plans for the offseason are pretty simple. Make up for 7 months away to my girlfriend, spend some quality time with my family and friends. And most importantly prepare myself for the 2013 season.

6)What are you most looking forward to next spring?

I am most looking forward to the feeling of seeing the hitter stand in for the first time in spring training. That is an image that I get in my head as soon as I get home for the offseason and I get excited about all the way until I throw that first pitch.

Again, I want to thank Jesse for taking the time to help out this little blogger. Spring Training is fast approaching and I for one, can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

