Threshers get thrashed

We’ve been to all six of the Threshers games so far. The days we were not at Bright House, we were in Dunedin. It’s been a tough week. The Threshers are 2 and 4. Those losses weren’t pretty.

It’s like the team’s bi-polar. Last Friday, they battled 11 innings against the Dunedin Blue Jays to win 8-7. It was an amazing game.

Yesterday, they lost 2-1 to the Tampa Yankees in 12. It wasn’t one of those games where you were like, “WOW! What a close game!” It was so lethargic, so bland. I just kept wondering when it would be over. I spent the last 3 innings walking the concourse at Bright House, they have calculated that three laps is equal to a mile, so I strapped on my pedometer and started walking. I had to do something.

As much as I love the Threshers, I’m torn because they can be so hard to watch. Some games they look like they are giving it their all and more often, not so much.

That’s not to say everyone looks that lethargic. Jesse Biddle, the pitcher I wrote about last week in my “Circle of Life, Baseball Style” post, still seems to be improving. He had a solid outing last Friday in the 8-7 barn-burner I mentioned earlier. He shows so much promise and I like to watch him. Each time I’ve seen him, you can almost see him progress right before your eyes. If he has a bad inning, he comes back the next and keeps battling. That’s what you want to see in a pitcher.

Adam Morgan, who pitched yesterday also looked sharp, the loss of the game yesterday was attributed to the anemic offense.

I’m hoping that it’s just that the team is adjusting to this new level of play that that is the reason for their troubles. We’re taking the day off today…since Baseball Ross and I subscribe to both MiLB.tv and MLB.tv we plan on watching the Phillies on our AppleTV while watching one of the few Reading Phillies games that are telecast on my Macbook.

We plan on returning to Bright House to see Jesse Biddle pitch on Friday, at least he’ll give us something good to watch.

One thought on “Threshers get thrashed

Leave a Reply

