Spring Training, Day 8

Sorry for the delay in posting. I had a major iPhoto issue that required 2 calls from Apple to fix, but true to form, they got it fixed with a minimum of grief. I ❤ Apple!

Where I was today, for what I could see…they worked hard on running home from third.  The “pitcher” (a coach) would softly toss a ball to the “hitter” (another coach) and then he would hit a soft, grounder so that the player at third would have to motor home. What was so impressive, what blew my mind is that these guys are like race horses, or may be Ferraris, they go from 0 to 60 in like, 3 steps. The power and grace was just astounding.

Later, I watched Mayberry, Thome and Luna doing first base drills. I have some video of this on my tube site and you can see it HERE.

It was a good day.

I was also trying to focus on grabbing one of the three remaining autographs I need to finish my main collection. I need Jimmy Rollins, Carlos Ruiz and Placido Polanco. So, I got lucky and got a great spot on the rail near where Polanco was working out/participating. Did I get any of the ones on my list? Nope. 😦 BUT I did get lucky and get Cole Hamels’ autograph! SCORE! I may have a few of his from other years, but this could be a major year for him so I was more than happy to grab another one. What was even more amazing was that Cole stayed and must have signed over a hundred different items. He was patient and kind and made sure that everyone who wanted an autograph, got one. It was amazing. Especially since almost every other player on this side said no.

Cole Hamels signing my ball

Chase Utley signed on the other side of the complex as did Brian Schneider and JIMMY ROLLINS!!! UGH….missed again! So much of autograph hunting is being in the right place at the right time. I’m glad I still have a couple of weeks to keep trying. I’ve only been chasing Jimmy for FIVE years!There is a lot that I love about spring training. It’s not just watching the drills, which I do enjoy, but it’s also seeing the players as people and meeting fellow fans in the crowd.

There are people that have been there at least as long as I have. You get to know these people and if you’re lucky make a friend or two. It’s good to have friends when you’re autograph hunting. They can tell you where they’ve gotten a chance to meet a player, or when they may be better to ask.

This is one of my friends, Martha and I

Martha and I

We tend to stick together. We keep each other company and keep each other from getting killed in the crush.

So today’s hot and sunny day was wonderful. Good friends, good weather and baseball, what more could I want?

Leave a Reply

