Phantasy Camp Meeting

This week was Phillies Phantasy Camp. I didn’t go. Well, didn’t participate. I never had the opportunity to play as a kid and starting to learn the basics doesn’t “earn” me the right to indulge myself with this level of Phantasy that I could play.

BUT, that doesn’t mean I can’t watch grown men living our their dreams. Some of those guys can play rather well. Ross and I had a good time walking from field to field at the Carpenter Complex.

I got to see some of the Phillies’ greats like Micky Morandini, Larry Andersen and

Ricky Bottalico

Ricky Bottalico

Milt Thompson

Milt Thompson

Now here’s the cool part…I got to MEET LarryAndersen! I was walking between fields when LA was also coming across. I said hi to him and he said hi back.

I offered him my hand and said, “Nice to meet you!”
He replied, “Well, I haven’t met you yet!”

So I went on to introduce myself and tell him about this site as we walked. He asked me if it was another site all full of “useless” stats. I said no, it’s more about the entire experience, not just data.

He paused, as if he was surprised, and then asked me how long I’d been doing this…I told since June.

So…May be I’ll get a look-see from one of the greats! I hope that if he reads this, he’ll know how he made this anonymous little blogger’s day!

Leave a Reply

